My travel essentials

I haven’t been on a proper overseas holiday for four years. This year has tested me in ways I could never have seen coming and, to be honest, in ways I’m still trying to move past. So it seemed the perfect time to book in some away time.

I’ll be in Las Vegas for around 10 days in November and then over to Austria  for Christmas and New Years and then a stop in London before flying home. I couldn’t be more excited. With all this travel planned it’s made me think about what my travel essentials are and what I won’t be able to do without heading into a long haul flight and the much cooler weather.

I confess, I am one of those annoying people on long haul flights who appears to have packed a entire beauty salon into their carry on luggage. With my rosacea and tendency for dry skin it’s so important to ensure my skin doesn’t dry out with all the air conditioning. I don’t like to wear make-up on long flights and I periodically go through the process of cleansing and moisturising. I don’t necessarily think you need to invest in any expensive or fancy products for this, I tend to use what I use every day – an eye cream, a slightly heavier moisturiser and I like to finish with a spray of rose water.

My essential must-haves on any long haul flight (these are brands I use but any brands will do):

Essano Rosehip Gentle Cleansing Facial Wipes
NATIO Ageless Brightening Eye Cream
Aspect Resveratrol Moisturising Creme
Aspect Redless Serum
Clearasil Ultra Rapid Action Pimple Cream (just in case!)
Aesop Immediate Moisture Facial Hydrosol
Essano Rosehip Nourishing Hand Cream
Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream

So my actual process is too use the facial wipes to cleanse my face, then I apply my eye cream and Resveratrol Moisturising Creme. On top of this I pat in my Redless Serum and let it sink in. To finish it off I spray my face lightly with the Facial Hydrosol and use my 8 Hour Cream on my lips.

Sometimes if I’m finding it difficult to sleep and I’m bored I’ll do a face mask or eye treatment – ones that you don’t have to wash off are the best.

Skin Republic Brightening Eye Mask
Skin Republic Collagen Hydrogel Under Eye Patch
Skin Republic Youthfoil Face Mask

You may feel a bit silly with one of these masks on your face, but your skin will thank you for it once you land. Before hoping off the plane I like to attempt to make myself look as if I haven’t been stuck on a plane for 24 hours. I use a bit of concealer, a little powder, some mascara and some lipstick to add some colour to my face.

Aside from skincare, I like to travel with some noise cancelling headphones, a good book, a neck pillow, a light-weight jumper, a journal and pen. I very rarely sleep on flights so keeping myself occupied is key. As a writer, I find long flights the perfect time to journal or read that book I just haven’t been able to get into yet. Instead of seeing the 24 hour flight as a huge pain, I try to see it as 24 hours that I can dedicate to myself, to papering my skin, reading what I want, watching what I want and writing all my thoughts out.

Having said that, I haven’t done a 24 hour flight since I moved back from the UK almost 8 years ago so we’ll see how I go!

Does anyone else have products or items they always take on a long haul flight that you can’t live without?

IMG_20171028_105310-01

Leave a Reply

