From the kitchen | Apple and Oat Muffins

I am a sucker for any cook book which claims it is full of recipes from people’s Nan’s or Mother’s. I love the nostalgia and the fact that these amazing, often quite traditional recipes are being passed on. Which is why I recently bought Gran’s Sweet Pantry by Natalie Oldfield. After making an Apple Cake in a crock pot (you can read all about that here) I had quite a few apples left over and, not wanting to waste them, I decided to give my new cook book a crack and make Apple and Oat Muffins.

They turned out amazing – I will definitely be making this one again and I do recommend you go out and get Natalie’s book – it is full of yummy treats I can’t wait to try. I took some of the muffins in to work and they were a big hit with my Director – just sayin’.

img_0779

What you’ll need 

1 1/2 cups oat bran
1 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
50g butter
1/2 cup honey
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup milk
1 cup grated apple, plus 12 apple slices

img_0788

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees and grease up a 12-hole muffin tray.

Put the oat bran, flour, baking powder and cloves in a large bowl and gently combine. Make a well in the centre of the ingredients. Melt the butter and the honey together. Always be careful if melting butter in a microwave – my Mother always taught me to do it in short bursts as it will get very hot very quickly. Lightly beat the egg. Dissolve the baking soda in the milk. Add the egg, milk mixture, butter mixture and grated apple to the dry ingredients. Quickly mix until it’s a smooth batter but me careful not to overmix. Mixing gently is what will make the muffins light. Fill the muffin tray with the mix and gently push a slice of apple into each muffin.

Bake for about 10 – 15 minutes or until they bounce back when you press them.

img_0802

img_0843

img_0870

img_0883

 

3 thoughts on “From the kitchen | Apple and Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

