From the Kitchen | Impossible Pudding

This recipe of my Nan’s had me intrigued by its title – Impossible Pudding – and by the fact that the ratio of ingredients seemed totally wrong to me. Three cups of milk but only half a cup of flour?! I totally freaked out about how wet the mix was as I poured it into its tin and shoved it in the oven but I put my trust in my Nan’s recipe.

Twenty minutes before it was due to come out I checked it – it had risen somewhat and the top was browning but it was clear that the middle was still liquid – again, I started to freak out. But it seems twenty minutes makes all the difference and while it still appeared soft on the inside, the knife came out clean when I put it in the middle. It sank a lot once it was out and I let it sit for a while to set a bit before I removed it.

So, as I tried to remove it from the tin it separated and split in half in a big old mess. I thought perhaps it would still taste ok – it didn’t – it wasn’t cooked on the inside. This was truly a baking fail. I’ll pop the recipe here anyway in case you want to give it a crack. Ironically, the pudding really lived up to its name.

IMG_9934

What you’ll need

1 cup coconut
3/4 cup sugar
4 eggs
3 cups milk
scant 1/2 cup self raising flour
vanilla
pinch salt

Scant means that you can’t go over the amount outlined – it’s a very precise measurement.

IMG_9942

Preheat the oven (fan forced) to 180°C. Mix all the ingredients together and pour into a greased pie plate. Bake for 1 hour (this is literally the only instructions my Nan had).

Perhaps where I went wrong is that I used a cake tin and not a pie plate. The inside clearly needed to be cooked longer but the top was already browning. Essentially it was a complete disaster and with no knowledge of what it was meant to turn out like, I was cooking blind. Might have to ask my Moth is my Nan ever cooked it for her.

It definitely was an impossible pudding!

IMG_9943

IMG_9955

IMG_9972

One thought on “From the Kitchen | Impossible Pudding

Leave a Reply

