Beauty Review | Pore minimising products

baby-skin-maybelline

I’ve started to notice that as I am hurtled toward my mid- thirties with the speed of a runaway freight train in a Bruce Willis film, my skin has changed dramatically since my twenties. As a result of being born with a delightful little skin condition called rosacea my skin has always been sensitive and dry. Really heavy moisturisers were my best friend and I didn’t appreciate how not oily my face was – until now. Seems I’ve gone from dry to combination skin complete with an oily t-zone and with this oil pit which I call my nose I’ve realised I have huge pores. Imagine the moon, see all those craters, that’s my nose. And like most things negative I discovered this about myself through the ‘helpful’ advice and observations of beauty salespeople. So I figured I’d give some not-too-overpriced products a go.

The first is Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser Primer ($15.95). It comes in a tiny tube but you don’t need to use a lot and I tend to concentrate it where my big pores are so around the centre of my face. Now, I don’t go around rubbing babies faces so I can’t comment of the ‘Baby Skin’ part of the title but its gel-like consistency means my skin is super smooth. As a nice side effect to my rosacea I have always had incredibly bumpy skin – sort of like a rash (doesn’t that sound attractive!) so smooth skin is not something I’m used to. When I use this primer under my foundation it makes my face visibly smoother and even my Mother commented on how much better the quality of my skin looked. I tend to use sunscreen as a base, then this primer and then some green tinted primer to combat the redness and THEN foundation. This is why I need time in the mornings. I’ve been using it for about four weeks and I think it works well to mask the visibility of pores and smoothing out your skin. It’s not a permanent fix but it’s not promising to be. I’ll keep using it for sure.

215-6461_PI_TPS1322835

I decided to also combat my apparently huge pores at a more base level and came across Natio Pore Unclogging Face Scrub ($9.95). It was in their ‘Young’ range but with no clear definition of what constitutes ‘young’ skin I decided I’m totally still applicable. It says to use twice a week as required so I have been. I usually steer clear of scrubs as they can often aggravate my rosacea but this one leaves my skin nice and smooth. Have I noticed a visible reduction in my pores? Hmmmm, jury’s still out on that one but it is still early days so I’m willing to give it a chance. I am a big fan of Natio products in general and it’s not doing my face any harm so we’ll see.

I know it’s a cliche but I can’t believe how much my skin and hair has changed since hitting my thirties. My once crazy thick hair is thinning and went from curly to straight (!), my once so dry it flaked in winter skin now manufactures enough oil to service a car, my eyelashes and eyebrows are literally disappearing (I’ll be doing a separate post about the product I’ve started using to combat this issue) and over the weekend I had a pimple appear on my chin that took up so much real estate it should have been paying rent. As someone who doesn’t get pimples (don’t hate me, while you were bullied about pimples, boys made up songs about my rosy cheeks at High School) having my chin literally look as if it was giving birth to another head was a little off-putting.

Anyway, if you have used either of these products or know of better ones please let me know! My pores thank you in advance.

One thought on “Beauty Review | Pore minimising products

Leave a Reply

