From the kitchen | Milk Arrowroot Fruit Fingers

IMG_8956

This recipe was given to my Nan by her next door neighbor and is great to make in summer as it’s quick, easy and doesn’t require the oven. As usual with all my Nan’s recipes I’ve had to make most of it up as she wasn’t big on details. The quantity I made actually only filled half my rectangular slice tray so next time I make it I will probably double the quantities.

What you’ll need

1 packet of milk arrowroot biscuits (finely chopped)
250g butter
1 cup sultanas or mixed fruit
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg (lightly beaten)
nuts to garnish

Icing

Icing sugar
Butter
Milk
Cocoa powder

IMG_8958

Using a blender finely chop the biscuits. Depending on your blender you may need to do this in batches. My blender is fairly old so I broke the biscuits up and processed them in three batches. Put aside. Place the butter, sultanas and sugar in a saucepan and slowly bring to the boil, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat and add the egg and vanilla essence, blending well. Add the biscuit crumbs and mix thoroughly.

IMG_8970

IMG_8979

Grease a shallow tin and line with baking paper. Press the mixture down tight using the back of a spoon or your fingers. Add the icing while the mixture is still warm. Now, I make icing the way my Mother does – with no measuring – so using a sieve place the icing sugar and cocoa powder in a bowl, add in a swipe of butter and mix. Create a well in the centre and begin adding the milk in very small amounts. As the mixture thickens you can gauge its consistency and whether it needs more icing sugar or milk. When it is a nice, thick mixture spread it on the biscuit mix. If it’s a bit stiff you can dip your knife or spatula in a cup of boiling water. Garnish with nuts or your choosing, I’ve used pistachios.

Leave in the fridge overnight and cut into finger – sized pieces. It has quite a fudge consistency and I would recommend leaving it out of the fridge for about 5 – 10 minutes before you cut it. If making in summer it will get quite soft quite quickly.

IMG_8983

IMG_8984

IMG_9006

IMG_8996

2 thoughts on “From the kitchen | Milk Arrowroot Fruit Fingers

  1. My mother invented this recipe. She was the home Economist for Arnott’s biscuits for many years. I grew up being the guinea pig for this and many other recipes. Her name was Connie Wright.
    Thanks
    B. Black

    Like

Leave a Reply

