From the kitchen | 2, 4, 6, 8 Cake (otherwise known as Butter Cake)

One of my Nan’s most common recipes was what she called a 2, 4, 6, 8 Cake – called such as it contained 2 eggs, 4 ounces of butter, 6 ounces of sugar, 8 ounces of self-raising flour and then half a cup of milk – and that’s it. Also known as a butter cake, I came across my Nan’s recipe card which basically just instructs you to mix it all together and bake for an hour – a woman of few words was my Nan! So I decided to give it a go and I used one of her old bundt tins.

IMG_7897

What you will need

2 eggs
4 oz (125g) butter
6 oz (180g) sugar
8 oz (225g) self-raising flour
1/2 cup milk

My Nan’s instructions were literally – Mix together and cook in a moderate oven (180°C) for 1 hour.

I creamed together the butter and sugar until light and then add the eggs one at a time, combining well after each. Next add the sifted self-raising flour, once combined add in the milk and using a wooden spoon mix well until completely combined. Pour the mixture into a greased cake tin. I actually baked it for about 30 – 45 min in a fan forced oven so I would recommend checking it at the 30 minute mark. Once it had cooled on a rack I dusted it with some icing sugar.

I have to say I was actually really pleased with the taste and texture – I thought it might be a bit of a boring recipe but it was really moist and quite delicious. You can also turn this into a chocolate cake by adding in some cocoa, you would just need to make sure the mixture didn’t get too dry. I will definitely make this again.

IMG_7899

IMG_7902

IMG_7903

IMG_7905

 

IMG_7981

IMG_7971

IMG_7990

IMG_8003

IMG_8008

4 thoughts on “From the kitchen | 2, 4, 6, 8 Cake (otherwise known as Butter Cake)

Leave a Reply

