From the kitchen | Caramel & Apple Pull Apart

IMG_20151020_170156

The other day I decided the clean out my cook books. I’m one of those people who loves to collect cook books but inevitably ends up making the same meals all the time. I came across a recipe for a Caramel Apple Pull Apart and thought it looked rather nice and my Godmother was coming over so I thought it was a good excuse to give it a crack. It did take a while to make so I made it the day before – I feel this may have effected the overall outcome, which I will comment on later – but important to note that if you are making it for a morning thing you might want to do it the night before.

20151021_171657

What you will need

2 cups (300g) self-raising flour
30g butter
1 cup (250ml) milk, approximately
1/3 cup (75g) firmly packed brown sugar
410g can pie apples
pinch ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup (30g) chopped pecans, toasted

Caramel

1/4 cup (60ml) cream
20g butter
1/2 cup (100g) firmly packed brown sugar

20151021_171748

Grease a 22cm round cake pan. Place the sifted flour in a medium bowl and rub in butter – my Mother tells me to make sure you only use your finger tips and she was taught to only use one hand in case the phone rings! She said the consistency should resemble something like bread crumbs with no visible lumps of butter. Stir in enough milk to mix to a soft, sticky dough – important to note that I didn’t use all of the milk outlined in the recipe and apparently that’s pretty common with dough. Of course, if you do add too much milk you can just balance it out with more flour. Turn dough onto a floured surface, knead gently until smooth.

Roll dough on floured baking paper to 21cm x 40cm rectangle – to ensure I had the right size a measured and used a pencil to mark the exact width and height and rolled it as close as possible. This made it so much easier than guessing. Sprinkle the dough with sugar, spread with combined apple and spices to within 3cm from the long edge. Using the paper as a guide, roll dough up like a swiss roll – this bit was a bit tricky and messy! Mine wasn’t perfect but I don’t think it needs to be.

Use a floured, serrated knife to cut rolls into 12 slices – I worked out the centre and measured it out that way. Place 11 slices upright around the edge of the cake tin and place the remaining slice in the centre. Bake in a moderately hot oven for about 25 minutes – now, moderately hot is 200 – my oven is fan forced so it does tend to cook things quite quickly so I like to check on anything I cook regularly – I removed this when it started to go brown which was before the 25 minute mark for me, but obviously all ovens are different. Stand a few minutes before turning onto a cooling rack. Brush the hot pull apart evenly with the caramel and sprinkle with nuts – I used a brush and then I poured the mixture over it – I think that works if you’re serving it immediately but left over night it became super moist. I don’t think you necessarily need to use all the caramel or if you are leaving it over night, pour the caramel right before serving.

To make the caramel combine all ingredients in a small saucepan, stir over heat without boiling until the sugar is dissolved. Simmer uncovered, without stirring, for about 3 minutes or until mixture is thickened slightly.

I was fairly happy with the end result – it tasted pretty good and lasted a few days after baking. It tastes nice heated up. Next time I make it though I might be less heavy handed with the caramel if it’s made the night before.

Enjoy!

20151021_171727

 

IMG_20151021_114650

Leave a Reply

