#datinginthe50s Update

So since throwing down the gauntlet a few weeks ago (read the original post here) and being issued a dating challenge from a very good friend of mine in London (read her post here), I’ve been trying to work my way through the list of 129 dating tips from 1958.

I quickly came to realise that many of them simply won’t be possible – such as number 12. Become a nurse or an air-line stewardess, number 15. Get a government job overseas and my personal favourite, number 114. Stow away on a battleship – but some can be tweaked slightly to be more achievable, for example, number 4. Join a hiking club can be turned into simply go hiking and number 21. Get a job demonstrating fishing tackle in a sporting goods store could reinvented as a trip to Bunnings.

I’ve been posting updates across the Lila Jean Vintage social media as I go but here is what I’ve achieved so far.

Number 13 – Ask your friends’ husbands who the eligible men are in their office.

I’ve asked several friends about single, normal men at their work and so far not a single bite. This one will be ongoing but I’m not surprised at the lack of response. If single men were everywhere I wouldn’t be single.

Number 28 – Change apartments from time to time.

I spent some time recently cat-sitting at a friends apartment in Waterloo so it’s the closest I’ll get to changing apartments without actually having to change apartments. I do think that a change of scenery is good and I saw more young men grocery shopping then I ever have before, but aside from presenting new opportunities to meet men, it did not present me with any dates. Or husbands.

Number 39 – Have your father buy some theatre tickets that have to be got rid of.

So technically my father had nothing to do with my theatre tickets – I am a freelance art writer so I am often asked to attend openings – so I will be doing this over the next few months and seeing what happens. It’s an interesting place to meet people and if I do happen upon an eligible man it will make an interesting date.

Number 49 – Get better-looking glasses. Men still make passes at girls who wear glasses – or try contact lenses.

I’m short-sighted and have worn glasses since I was eleven. I recently changed my frames and will be making a conscious effort to wear them a bit more. I used to never wear them when I went out, adhering to the archaic idea that men aren’t interested in women who wear glasses, but have since realised that I can’t actually see anyone – male or otherwise. I’m not quite brave enough to try contact lenses yet.

More updates as they happen. Stay tuned!

 

One thought on “#datinginthe50s Update

Leave a Reply

