News | Crowdfunding Issue Four

We are swiftly approaching the fourth Issue of Lila Jean Vintage Magazine. It’s hard to believe it’s almost been a year and it’s been an interesting journey. I say interesting and not amazing because there have been times when things haven’t been so amazing. It’s been difficult, perhaps more so than I ever imagined, and there will be difficult times ahead, of that I am sure, but for now I wanted to in some way celebrate this small milestone – reaching 4 issues.

We decided to make issue four the International Issue, focusing on travel and all things vintage abroad. To really set this issue apart I decided I wanted to expand our writers and include more voices in the magazine, I also have an idea that involves some illustrations, and of course we intend to pay all our freelancers – being a freelance writer myself I feel very strongly about this. I am toying with the idea of enlisting the help of writers both here and abroad so after much consideration we’ve decided to enlist the help of crowdfunding to fund our fourth issue. Money raised will pay all our amazing freelancers, including design, as well as ensuring we can continue to print the magazine at the same quality and locally within Australia. Again, supporting small business is something we feel very strongly about.

On Saturday my amazing photographer Will came round and we shot a video to accompany the crowdfunding campaign. I HATE being in front of the camera. Hopefully I didn’t make too much of an ass of myself. The aim is to launch the campaign on July 7th and it will run for 30 days. The success of the campaign will rely entirely on you guys so we hope you can dig deep – we’ll have some great rewards on offer as an incentive – so keep July 7th in your diaries! We’ll keep you updated on our progress and what you can expect from Issue Four as we go along. It’s going to be an exciting issue!

IMG_20150627_102638
The view from my side of the camera. Will sets up the perfect shot.
IMG_20150627_120035
Will shoots the magazine for the crowdfunding video.
IMG_20150627_121226
Keep your eyes open for a cameo by George. She’s such a diva.
20150627_103504
Preparing for my direct to camera. Note the slippers. Total rock star.

 

Leave a Reply

