Behind the scenes of the Issue One photo shoot

I had a fairly distinct idea in my head about what I thought the first issue of Lila Jean Vintage should be like – this included the photo shoot. First off, I wanted to use people who were easy to relate to and by that I basically mean not professional models, so it seemed only natural to use my friends! Also, I wanted an atmosphere of fun and Christmas cheer which I don’t feel would have been achieved with a group of people who didn’t know one another. My friends have such a strong sense of individual style I didn’t want to detract from that, merely enhance it with a vintage twist.
I’m a big believer that you don’t need to spend a lot of money to achieve a vintage inspired look. Authentic vintage pieces can be very pricey but what if you’re not sure it’s the right look for you? Your local op-shop is your best friend. You can often find vintage at a steal or very easily style an outfit to look retro. Vintage is so often about style rather than fashion. Team a floral day dress with some pin curls and a red lip and suddenly your channeling the 1940s, a shift dress with a beehive and lots of eye makeup and you’re suddenly 1960s – and it can be as much or as little as you like.
So all the clothes in the shoot are owned by those who wear them and all I did was add a bit of makeup and accessories (to the women) and it added a lovely retro edge. I was very fortunate to be able to shoot on the lovely South Steyne Restaurant which has a very Art Deco feel. Here are some behind the scenes shots that didn’t make Issue One, and if you haven’t grabbed a copy of the first issue yet you can buy it from these stockists or online. And yes, it was as much fun as it looks!  
All images by Will Taylor and © Lila Jean Vintage
Leave a Reply

