The home stretch

It’s 14 days before I officially launch the first issue of Lila Jean Vintage. I’m a little nervous. Since I left my full time employment back in August it’s been a bit of a whirlwind and I’m not entirely sure how it’s all come to this point.
Things I’ve learned.
  • Always, ALWAYS have a Plan B. Sometimes thinking worst case scenario isn’t being negative, it’s being prepared for all possible outcomes – especially the bad ones. This is how I ended up doing a photo shoot out of the back of a van in a car park. 
  • Surround yourself with positive people who know more than you. There were many times that I could not be positive if you paid me but as soon as you let that feeling overwhelm you, that is when doubt and fear attempt to persuade you to give up. 
  • Don’t be ashamed to ask for help. An oldie but a goodie. Those people you’ve surrounded yourself with who know more than you – ask them. 
  • It’s one thing to come up with an idea – it’s an entirely different kettle of fish trying to put it into practice. Nothing is as simple as you think but will often be as complicated as it looks.
  • Realise that you cannot physically do everything yourself and still sleep and eat – learn to delegate – and acknowledge your own strengths and weaknesses. Admitting your crap at something doesn’t equate to failure.
  • Always allow yourself more time than you need. Missing important deadlines can severely impact the overall outcome.
  • Expect that everything will cost more than you think and budget for that. And while we’re on the subject…..
  • Have a budget and be realistic. 
  • While it’s important to put faith in other people, don’t be devastated if they let you down and this is why point one on this list is so vital.
  • Listen to other people’s advice but equally trust your own instincts. You know if something isn’t working or isn’t right for what you’re doing.
  • Don’t be discouraged. When I first had the idea to print a vintage magazine even some of my closest friends were wary. It was incredibly difficult to drum up advertising for a product I couldn’t show people yet and it was incredibly disheartening.
  • Don’t expect to turn a profit straight away. I made sure I had a lot of savings to back up this endeavour before I started as I knew I wouldn’t make a profit on the first issue. 
  • Remember – sleep is essential. I forget this. A lot.
  • If you’re working from home find a routine that works for you and stick with it. Having said that, remember that most people you will deal with are not up working at 2am just cause you are. 
  • Cats are an excellent form of procrastination.
  • Even if it doesn’t work out, be content in the knowledge that you tried. Who knows, Lila Jean may only make 2 issues and I realise it’s just not viable (let’s hope that’s not the case!) but at least I gave it a go. There is nothing more frustrating in this life than the ‘what ifs’.

I’ve probably learnt more than this but it’s the highlights. Most of it I’m sure you’ve heard before and perhaps some of it you don’t necessarily agree with and that’s ok. Taking that leap is different for everyone.

I want to end with a video of Arianna Huffington. I first heard her interviewed on The Conversation and this really inspired me to follow my dreams.

Leave a Reply

