A 1920s makeover for the Gangster’s Ball

Last night I went to the Gangster’s Ball at the Metro Theatre. Pitched as a ‘swing dancing, cabaret & vaudeville extravaganza’, I was looking forward to getting dressed up and testing out some of the moves I’d learnt at swing dancing class. I decided to go 1940s and attempted to find my inner Lauren Bacall while my lovely friend Han decided 1920s flapper was for her. I could literally smell the makeover! 

Now Han is naturally gorgeous and doesn’t wear (let alone own) much makeup. While 1920s flapper makeup tends to be on the heavier side, I didn’t want to freak her out so I kept the eyes quite light. After applying a base of foundation, concealer and loose powder with a hint of blush I started on the eyes. I used a silver grey powder shadow all over the lid and a black powder shadow in the crease and at the outside corners. Using a black pencil eyeliner I lined the top lid and smudged it towards the outer corners, using the same pencil I lined the bottom lashes and again smudged it. Mascara is the final touch on both the top and bottom lashes. I finished it off with a plum colour on Han’s lips.

While technically finger waves were the style of the 1920s it is a skill I have yet to master so instead I pin curled Han’s bob cut into a messy curled style. Using a tail comb I started by defining Han’s natural side part. I put her hair in pin curls using pin curl clips and Lindy Charm School setting lotion. Han’s hair is quite thin so I used quite large sections of hair as I didn’t want really tight curls. The clips were left in for about an hour and a half and I blasted it with the hairdryer to ensure the curls were set before removing them. As I wanted a messy style I didn’t brush out the curls, I just an my fingers through to loosen the sections.

Products used:

Foundation: Max Factor Age Renew Foundation in creamy ivory

Concealer: Maybelline Fit Me in fair claire

Loose powder: Maybelline shine free in light

Blusher: Calvin Klein in mellow wine 

Eyeliner: Max Factor Liquid Effect pencil

Eye shadow: Collection 2000  colour intense trio in steel ice

Lip liner: Max Factor 

Lipstick: She in Mystery

Mascara: Maybelline the Colossal Volum’ Express 

Leave a Reply

