Vintage Finds & National Op Shop Week

This week is National Op Shop Week, an initiative organised by the charity Do Something that aims to increase the number of purchases from and donations to charity clothing stores. Apparently 62% of women have clothes in their wardrobe they’ve never worn or that still have the tags on. We’re all guilty of it. 

Given I’d only cleaned out my wardrobe last month and gave several bag loads to my local Vinnies, I thought I’d partake in the ‘purchasing’ part of Op Shop Week. Now, I often find op shop buying can be a little hit-and-miss, some days there’s nothing that tickles your fancy, others you want to buy everything in the store. It just so happened Tuesday was of the latter variety. 

I couldn’t believe my luck, only that morning had they unpacked three gorgeous vintage hats – a rarity at your average Vinnies – so of course I snapped up all three! Then there was my raid on the nightgown section which saw me snap up five gorgeous pieces – such amazing detailing – and don’t even get me started on the shoes. I was a woman possessed. 

Ironically as I was picking things out I could spot my old clothes in the racks. I hope they find a nice new home.

So, the grand total of my Vinnies run was:

  • 3 hats
  • 1 pair of shoes
  • 4 night gowns
  • 1 night robe
  • 1 cardigan
  • 1 jumper

Here’s some shots of the great haul. 

Leave a Reply

