An afternoon at Lunatiques Vintage And Design Collective in Alexandria

I was devastated when I found out the Sydney Antique Centre was closing its doors after 40 years in the business. Aside from beautiful antiques, the centre housed some amazing vintage fashion and I was concerned about where these stores would end up next. Thankfully they have found a home at  Lunatiques Vintage And Design Collective in Alexandria amongst all the furniture and frankly a hell of a lot f suitcases.

When I visited the enormous warehouse space last Saturday I was so happy to see Lou Murray Vintage, Nina’s Vintage Closet and The Vintage Drawer all having found a new home at the centre. I had a lovely chat with Deborah from The Vintage Drawer who was incredibly helpful in assisting me to find the perfect dress for this year’s Fifties Fair at Rose Seidler House. Deborah will also have a stall at the Fair so if you’re going be sure to drop by and say hi.

I don’t know what it is about me and old stuff – I just love it. Perhaps it’s that it had another life before I can upon it, it’s that air of mystery, of something being pre-loved that appeals. Perhaps it’s growing up in a household that abhorred waste of any kind that finds me rifling through re-used and up-cycled goods. There is the small fact that generally goods made in the 1940s – 1970s are simply just built better and made to last. I can’t imagine anyone on 50 years time wanting to own an IKEA bookcase. If you do visit Luanantiques be prepared to be there for a few hours, there is much to see and you will be more than happy to get lost.

 

 

Leave a Reply

